Link to the University of Pittsburgh Homepage
Link to the University Library System Homepage Link to the Contact Us Form

The History and Future of the “Neglected Tropical Diseases” – Integrating Qualitative and Quantitative Research to Improve Public Health Outcomes

Williams, John and Bomberger, Jennifer and Cooper, Vaughn and Corcoran, Tim and Doi, Yohei and Goundappa, Balasubramani and Haidar, Ghady and Hatfull, Graham and Iovleva, Alina and Kurland, Geoff and Lakdawala, Seema and Michaels, Marian and Mitchell, Stephanie and Parker, Lisa and Pipas, Jim and Reed, Doug and Shields, Ryan and Silveira, Fernanda and Van Tyne, Daria and Wang-Erickson, Anna and Wisniewski, Steve (2020) The History and Future of the “Neglected Tropical Diseases” – Integrating Qualitative and Quantitative Research to Improve Public Health Outcomes. In: Pitt Momentum Fund 2020, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, Pa. (Unpublished)

[img]
Preview
PDF (Showcase Slide)
Download (88kB) | Preview

Abstract

"Antimicrobial resistance is a serious public health problem causing millions of infections and thousands of deaths in children and adults annually. An increasing number of infections are due to multidrug-resistant organisms (MDRO) resistant to most or even all antibiotics. MDRO cause serious and life-threatening infections among high-risk children and adults including those with chronic lung diseases such as cystic fibrosis, immunocompromise, and stem cell or organ transplant. However, there are few new antibiotics in development, and the rapid evolutionary capacity of bacteria facilitates the emergence of resistance. An emerging approach is bacteriophage or phage therapy.

Phage are naturally occurring viruses that infect and kill specific bacterial species, and in some cases, specific strains. Several recent reports describe cases of successful phage therapy against MDRO infections, including by Graham Hatfull in collaboration with UK physicians to treat a lung transplant recipient with severe mycobacterial infection. However, the field is nascent, much remains undiscovered, and more basic and clinical research are needed to discover the potential of phage therapy.

We propose to form a multi-disciplinary team to develop a complete phage discovery-to-patient entity, the Pittsburgh Phage Project (P3). This team is designed to leverage scholarly excellence in phage biology, infectious diseases, viral immunity, epidemiology, ethics, and clinical trials to form a new multi-disciplinary collaboration. We will conduct phage discovery from environmental sources and human subjects, determine phage biology and immunogenicity, identify panels of phage for specific MDRO, establish an ethical framework, and conduct clinical trials. The long-term goal will be to develop phage therapy candidates for major MDRO. Hospitals affiliated with the University of Pittsburgh provide advanced tertiary care for high-risk patients with complex conditions; thus, the P3 program is highly relevant. The Pitt environment provides a unique opportunity to leverage our strengths to create a world-class program in phage therapy."


Share

Citation/Export:
Social Networking:
Share |

Details

Item Type: Conference or Workshop Item (Poster)
Status: Unpublished
Creators/Authors:
CreatorsEmailPitt UsernameORCID
Williams, Johnjvw@pitt.edujvw0000-0001-8377-5175
Bomberger, Jenniferjbomb@pitt.edujbomb
Cooper, Vaughnvaughn.cooper@pitt.educooperv
Corcoran, Timtec23@pitt.edutec23
Doi, Yoheiyod4@pitt.eduyod4
Goundappa, Balasubramanibkg10@pitt.edubkg10
Haidar, Ghadyhaidarg@pitt.eduhaidarg
Hatfull, Grahamgfh@pitt.edugfh
Iovleva, Alinaavi5@pitt.eduavi5
Kurland, Geoffgkurland@pitt.edugkurland
Lakdawala, Seemaseemal@pitt.eduseemal
Michaels, Marianmichmg@pitt.edumichmg
Mitchell, Stephanieslm198@pitt.eduslm198
Parker, Lisalisap@pitt.edulisap
Pipas, Jimpipas@pitt.edupipas
Reed, Dougdsreed@pitt.edudsreed
Shields, Ryanrshieres@pitt.edurshieres
Silveira, Fernandafps2@pitt.edufps2
Van Tyne, Dariavantyne@pitt.eduvantyne
Wang-Erickson, Annaa.wang-erickson@pitt.eduwangeric
Wisniewski, Stevewisniew@edc.pitt.edustevewis
Centers: Other Centers, Institutes, Offices, or Units > Center for Vaccine Research
Other Centers, Institutes, Offices, or Units > Office of Sponsored Research > Pitt Momentum Fund
Date: 2020
Event Title: Pitt Momentum Fund 2020
Event Type: Other
DOI or Unique Handle: 10.18117/dpcg-vs19
Schools and Programs: Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences > Biological Sciences
Graduate School of Public Health > Epidemiology
Graduate School of Public Health > Human Genetics
School of Medicine > Critical Care Medicine
School of Medicine > Immunology
School of Medicine > Infectious Diseases and Microbiology
School of Medicine > Microbiology and Molecular Genetics
School of Medicine > Pathology
School of Medicine > Pediatrics
Refereed: No
Date Deposited: 24 Feb 2020 16:48
Last Modified: 24 Feb 2020 18:13
URI: http://d-scholarship.pitt.edu/id/eprint/38213

Metrics

Monthly Views for the past 3 years

Plum Analytics

Altmetric.com


Actions (login required)

View Item View Item